Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin: Friday 13th March 2020


Headteacher’s Message

Dear Parents/Carers,

Thank you for your support for today’s Sport Relief initiative, in which children came into school looking super-sporty!  It was great to see so many different clubs and interests represented in children’s outfits.  We raised almost £400 for Sport Relief – thank you for your support.

Coronavirus update: we understand that many families are concerned about this issue.  At Tunbury, we continue to follow the government guidelines provided to us by the Department for Education (DfE) and Public Health England.  Like all schools, we receive daily coronavirus update emails from the DfE and we will continue to act on advice given.  The emphasis on handwashing has resulted in some adjustments to our daily routines to accommodate time for children to wash their hands throughout the school day.  As you’ll have noticed, we are now also asking all visitors to school to wash their hands or use hand gel, for example at Parents’ Evening and on entry to Friday’s class assemblies. 

Please see the following link, which provides the latest guidance for schools:
www.gov.uk/government/publications/guidance-to-educational-settings-about-covid-19/guidance-to-educational-settings-about-covid-19

Additionally, here is the current stay-at-home guidance, relevant for everyone, including children, parents and staff:
www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-stay-at-home-guidance

You can also contact the DfE coronavirus helpline with any queries.  This is open from 8am-6pm on Monday-Friday at 0800 0468687.  

The coronavirus situation seems to be changing day by day and we will, of course, keep you informed about any future developments affecting our school.

Have a lovely weekend everyone.

Ruth Austin
Headteacher

 

Our learning Year 2

This term, the Year 2 topic has been ‘Towers and Turrets’. On Monday, we visited Leeds Castle, which is known as the ‘loveliest castle in the world!’ We had a fantastic day learning about the castle, which is over 900 years old! The children were given the opportunity to dress up as historical characters and learn about the history of the castle.
The children used this fun experience to write a recount describing the events that took place. We also discussed non-fiction writing and took this opportunity to create a leaflet about Leeds Castle.
 

Notices
•         Parent Forum meeting on Thursday 19th March: 5 pm – 6 pm.
The theme for this meeting is Homework. Please let us know via email to office@tunbury.kent.sch.uk if you would like to attend the meeting, or have any comments or agenda items in advance.  We have scheduled these meetings at different times of the day to try to encourage attendance from a greater number of parents, so please join us if you can!

•         Come to our Book Fair
Monday 16th – Thursday 19th March 2020
 
Next Week, we are lucky enough to have the Travelling Book Fair in school again. The book fair will be open between 3.30 pm and 4 pm, (location to be advised). This is a great opportunity to buy new and exciting books for your children to read and also help us raise money to buy new texts for the children to access in school.

•         Site Manager Vacancy
We’re still looking for a new Site Manager due to the retirement of Mr Evans at the end of term. For further details, please visit https://www.kent-teach.com/Recruitment/Vacancy/VacancyDetails.aspx?VacancyId=79172

•         HLTA Vacancy
We’re also seeking to employ a new HLTA (Higher Level Teaching Assistant). For further details, please visit https://www.kent-teach.com/Recruitment/Vacancy/VacancyDetails.aspx?VacancyId=79243

•         Apprentice Teaching Assistant Vacancy
Finally, we are looking to appoint an apprentice Teaching Assistant to join the Tunbury team. For further details, please visit www.kenttrainingandapprenticeships.co.uk/vacancies/apprentice-teaching-assistant-level-2-intermediate-kta2692/ This appointment is being made through Kent Training and Apprenticeships, so please direct any queries to them, not directly to the school office.


Dates for your Diary
Monday 16th March till Thursday 19th March – Travelling Books sale
Tuesday 17th March – Year 1 ‘Poor’ Victorian Day
Thursday 19th March – Parent Forum – 5 pm to 6pm
Friday 20th March – Year 3 visit to Kent Life
Thursday 26th March – Last day for Extra – Curricular Clubs
Monday 30th March – Y4 Parents’ Information meeting – Swattenden - 3.30 pm NEW
Tuesday 31st March – TSA Easter Hunt
Wednesday 1st April – Last Day of Term 4
Thursday 2nd April – Wednesday 15th April – Spring/Easter Break
Thursday 16th April – Start of Term 5
Tuesday 21st April – Swimming starts for Ruby class
Wednesday 29th April – Friday 1st May – Year 4 Residential visit to Swattenden
Monday 4th May – Classes and Year 6 group photos – Tempest Photographers
Friday 8th May – Bank Holiday – School Closed
Monday 11th May – SATs Week – Year 6
Monday 18th May – SATs Week – Year 2
Friday 22nd May – Last day of Term 5
Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May – May Break Week
Monday 1st June – INSET DAY – School Closed for Pupils
Tuesday 2nd June – Start of Term 6 for pupils
Monday 8th June – Phonics check week – Year 1
Monday 15th June – Friday 19th June - Bikeability Cycle Training Year 6
Monday 15th June – Multiplication Tables check week – Year 4
Friday 26th June - Year 4 visit to Horton Kirby
Saturday 27th June – TSA Summer Fair 1 – 4 pm NEW
Monday 6th July – Sports Day – KS2 am, KS1 pm (Reserve Day, Monday 13th July)
Wednesday 8th July – Parent Forum – 2 pm
Friday 10th July – TSA Dare to be Different/Family Picnic
Wednesday 15th July – Year 6 performances 2 pm and 6 pm
Thursday 16th July – Annual Reports home to parents
Monday 20th July – Parents’ Open Afternoon 2 pm
Monday 20th July – Parents’ drop-in with class teachers regarding reports 3.15 -4.15 pm
Wednesday 22nd July – Year 6 Leavers’ Assembly – 2 pm
Wednesday 22nd July – Last day of Term 6 / Academic Year


Class Assemblies
Class assemblies take place on a Friday at the end of the school day. Please wait outside the hall entrance doors.  You will be invited in at approximately 2.50 pm, once the children are seated, and the assembly will begin at 2.55 pm.  It will last about 10 minutes.

Friday 13th March – Magenta
Friday 20th March – Ruby
Friday 27th March – Azure
Friday 15th May – Blue
Friday 22nd May – Red
Friday 12th June – Pink
Friday 19th June – Yellow
Friday 26th June – Bears
Friday 3rd July - Owls
Friday 10th July – Hedgehogs

Noticeboard

Welcome to our new look website. Our new site is 'responsive', making it easy to navigate on a wide range of web browsers and devices. There’s a range of smaller changes to improve your experience of the site. This website is organic and we will continue to develop it further to suit everyone's needs. We hope that you find it useful and enjoy browsing it.