Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin: Friday 17th January 2020

Headteacher’s Message

Dear Parents/Carers, 

Good news – following our recruitment drive for a new School Crossing Patrol, I’m pleased to say that we have found a Local Hero to take on this important role. Our successful applicant is Clare Dillon, who many of you might already know as a Tunbury parent, and we are delighted to welcome her to the school team. After training from the KCC Transport & Safety department, Clare should be able to take up her new post at some point after February half term. She will be staffing the school crossing point on Tunbury Avenue before and after school, making our children’s journeys safer. We’ll provide more details about this nearer the time. 

This week saw the launch of our extra-curricular clubs program for the Spring term. Over the coming year, we’re aiming to widen our provision of extra-curricular clubs and provide an increased number of staff-led clubs alongside our existing clubs run by sports coaches. We have also extended the range of year groups that can attend clubs in order to get more children involved. This term’s clubs include cooking, coding and sewing and it is lovely to see so many children enjoying these opportunities. A full list of clubs is at www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/After-School-Clubs . Please also see the Notices section below for club spaces currently available to book. 

At the start of the new term, all year groups have started learning about new topics. Remember that you can always find out about what your children are learning at www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/Curriculum . As you’ll already know, we often start or finish termly topics with in-school enrichment events. This week, Year 1 enjoyed a visit with live animals from Zoolab and Year 4 found out about the Normans through a special workshop. I popped into both of these events and was lucky enough to join Yellow class in meeting a rat and a hissing cockroach called Steve! I also joined Ruby class, who were completely transfixed by a demonstration of Norman weaponry including arrows, spears and swords. These enrichment events are fantastic in inspiring our children and bringing their learning to life, so thank you for your continuing support. 

Finally, congratulations to all the children who participated in yesterday’s Mini Youth Games swimming gala – well done team Tunbury! 

Have a lovely weekend everyone. 

Ruth Austin
Headteacher

Our learning Year 2

Year 2 have had a fun start to term 3:

Our topic this term is, ‘Land Ahoy!’ We have started the term by learning about healthy eating and why a balanced diet is important to us. The highlight of this week has been designing and making vegetable kebabs for a pirate. This gave the children a chance to taste a variety of fruit and vegetables, such as, courgettes, peppers and aubergine.

In English, our text has been ‘The Night Pirates’ and this book has been used as a stimulus to write descriptions and diary entries.

 

Designated Safeguarding Leaders (DSL) Assembly

On Tuesday of this week, we led an assembly to all children, including Reception year, about the role of DSLs in school. We explained to the children that they can talk to any adult they trust in school about any worries or problems they may have if they want to and that the adult will then come and chat with us for more advice. We explained that our role is to do whatever we can to keep them safe and this might involve speaking with parents/carers or professionals from other organisations. We have put up posters around the school for the children to remind them of who we are and where they can find us.

Ms Byrne, Mrs Smith and Mr May.

 Notices

  • Extra – Curricular Clubs There are spaces on Coding Club (Year 5), Gymnastics, (Year 3,4,5,6) and Street Dance (Year 3,4,5,6). Please contact the school office if you would like to book one of these spaces. 
  • Starting at Primary School for September this year If you have missed the deadline for applications KCC online admissions system (www.kent.gov.uk/ola) is open for parents until 10th February. This means that parents can still apply online and receive an offer on Primary National Offer Day (16th April) as long as it is submitted by 10th February.

Dates for your Diary

Friday 24th January – Year R Chinese New Year Day

Thursday 30th January - Forest School Year R pm

Monday 3rd February – iRock music assembly

Thursday 6th February – Greek Workshop Year 6 NEW

Thursday 6th February - Forest School Year R pm

Friday 7th February – TSA Family disco

Tuesday 11th February – Safer Internet Day

Wednesday 12th February – Parents’ Open Afternoon – 2 pm

Thursday 13th February – Zoolab visiting Year R

Friday 14th February – TSA Non-Uniform Day

Friday 14th February – Last day of Term 3

Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February – February Break

Monday 24th February – INSET DAY – School Closed for pupils

Tuesday 25th February – Start of Term 4 for pupils

Thursday 5th March – World Book Day –

Thursday 5th March – Parents’ Evening 3.40 pm – 6.30 pm

Monday 9th March – Y2 visit to Leeds Castle NEW

Tuesday 10th March - Parents’ Evening 3.40 pm – 6.30 pm

Wednesday 11th March – Year 5 visit to the Royal Observatory

Thursday 12th March – Year 1 visit to Kent Life

Monday 16th March – Travelling Books sale

Thursday 19th March – Parent Forum – 5 pm

Thursday 26th March – Last day for Extra – Curricular Clubs

Tuesday 31st March – TSA Easter Hunt

Wednesday 1st April – Last Day of Term 4

Thursday 2nd AprilWednesday 15th AprilSpring/Easter Break

Thursday 16th April – Start of Term 5

Tuesday 21st April – Swimming starts for Rubyclass

Wednesday 29th April – Friday 1st May – Year 4 Residential visit to Swattenden

Friday 8th May – Bank Holiday – School Closed

Monday 11th May – SATs Week – Year 6

Monday 18th May – SATs Week – Year 2

Friday 22nd May – Last day of Term 5

Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May – May Break Week

Monday 1st June – INSET DAY – School Closed for Pupils

Tuesday 2nd June – Start of Term 6 for pupils

Monday 8th June – Phonics check week – Year 1

Monday 15th June – Friday 19th June - Bikeability Cycle Training Year 6

Monday 15th June – Multiplication Tables check week – Year 4

Friday 26th June - Year 4 visit to Horton Kirby

Monday 6th July – Sports Day – KS2 am, KS1 pm (Reserve Day, Monday 13th July)

Wednesday 8th July – Parent Forum – 2 pm

Friday 10th July – TSA Dare to be Different/Family Picnic

Wednesday 15th July – Year 6 performances 2 pm and 6 pm

Thursday 16th July – Annual Reports home to parents

Monday 20th July – Parents’ Open Afternoon 2 pm

Monday 20th July – Parents’ drop-in with class teachers regarding reports 3.15 -4.15 pm

Wednesday 22nd July – Year 6 Leavers’ Assembly – 2 pm

Wednesday 22nd July – Last day of Term 6 / Academic Year

Class Assemblies

Class assemblies take place on a Friday at the end of the school day. Please wait outside the hall entrance doors. You will be invited in at approximately 2.50 pm, once the children are seated, and the assembly will begin at 2.55 pm. It will last about 10 minutes. 

Friday 17th January – Violet

Friday 24th January – Turquoise

Friday 31st January – Lilac

Friday 7th February – Amber

Friday 14th February – Lavender

Friday 6th March – Emerald

Friday 13th March – Magenta

Friday 20th March – Ruby

Friday 27th March – Azure

Friday 15th May – Blue

Friday 22nd May – Red

Friday 12th June – Pink

Friday 19th June – Yellow

Friday 26th June – Bears

Friday 3rd July - Owls

Friday 10th July – Hedgehogs

Noticeboard

Welcome to our new look website. Our new site is 'responsive', making it easy to navigate on a wide range of web browsers and devices. There’s a range of smaller changes to improve your experience of the site. This website is organic and we will continue to develop it further to suit everyone's needs. We hope that you find it useful and enjoy browsing it.