Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin: Friday 17th September 2021

Headteacher’s message to parents/carers 

Dear Parents/Carers, 

Teamwork and community are important to us at Tunbury.  We know that a school is most effective when children, staff and families work together and play their part.  This is summarised by the Tunbury Home School Agreement, which is detailed in the Parents -Letters and Forms section of our website.  This has already been shared with Reception parents as part of their induction into Tunbury, but we thought that it would be useful to now share this with everyone.  Children in Years 1-6 should already understand their roles from the Home School Agreement from this week’s assemblies with Mr Taylor, but please read it and talk about it together at home.  Thank you for your support and contributions to making Tunbury a safe and happy place for our children to learn.     

As well as promoting teamwork, we also do our best to provide open and regular communication for our families.  As part of this commitment, we have planned ahead for dates throughout the academic year, including Open Afternoons, Parent Consultation evenings, Class Assemblies, Christmas and beyond.  Although we can’t be certain of future Covid disruption, our hope and aim is to give our children and families a ‘normal’ school experience this year.  Further dates and events will be shared as they are organised, but we hope that this list provides a useful starting point. 

Have a lovely weekend everyone. 

Best wishes 

Ruth Austin

Headteacher 

Notices

School entry, 8.40-8.50: Well done to our new Reception children for transitioning so well to saying goodbye to parents/carers at the gate – this has worked so well this week.  This transition means that both gates (side gate and playground gate) are only open from 8.40-8.50 each morning.  If you arrive after this time, you will need to accompany your children to the main school office.  Thank you.

TSA Annual General Meeting: The TSA AGM will be taking place on Thursday 23rd September from 8:30pm in the school hall. Refreshments will be provided and anyone is welcome!

We also have a vacancy for a treasurer. If you are interested or would like more details, please email chair@thetunburyschoolassociation.com

HLTA team: In last week’s bulletin, we mentioned the change to our HLTA team now covering classes for PPA time, rather than our Sports Coaches.  Following on from this, we would like to introduce our HLTA team: Mrs Jetha, Mrs Cole, Miss McKenzie and Mrs Elvy.  All of our HLTA team are qualified for the role, with either an HLTA award or qualified teacher status, and have many years’ experience in primary education.  Our HLTAs are timetabled for regular cover with specific classes, although they may also cover short-term staff absence in any class.  The regular cover slots are as follows:

Mrs Jetha: Hedgehogs, Ruby, Magenta and Emerald classes

Mrs Cole: Azure, Owls, Scarlet, Turquoise, Violet, Red and Lavender classes

Miss Mckenzie: Crimson, Indigo, Lilac, Orange, Yellow and Sapphire classes

Mrs Elvy: Bears, Pink, Blue and Amber classes

You will sometimes see our HLTA team dismissing children on the playground at home time, in the same way as you used to see our Sports Coaches.  They will be able to talk to you about your child’s day if this is needed, so please chat to them as you would with your child’s class teacher.

Parent Consultations:  Last year, we held all of our parent consultation meetings online via Teams and we were pleased to find that this was well received by many people.  As a result of feedback from teachers and parents/carers, we are retaining an online option for our Autumn term parent consultations.  One evening will be available for in-person, in-school appointments and the second evening will be online only.  We will provide further details nearer the time, but the dates are now published in the Diary section at the end of this bulletin.

Open afternoons:  After such a long time when we were unable to invite parents/carers into school, we are delighted to be able to re-instate open afternoons for the Autumn term.  Open afternoons are an opportunity for you to come into school and visit your child, helping you to see what their learning looks and feels like in a classroom setting and enabling them to show you what they are proud of!

Previously, we held one open afternoon and invited all parents in simultaneously, making it extremely busy in school.  This year, we are limiting numbers by inviting only 1 adult per child and holding different year group open afternoons on different days.  We will provide further details nearer the time, but the dates are now published in the Diary section at the end of this bulletin.

Class Assemblies:  We are also pleased to re-introduce class assemblies this year.  Like all of our other dates, these are subject to change in any future Covid disruption.  Our plan is to reduce the number of people gathering together by inviting just parents/carers into the hall, as well as the class of children presenting their assembly.  Instead of having other classes also sitting in the hall as part of the audience, these classes will watch the assembly performances via Teams in their classrooms.  This should mean that there is sufficient space and ventilation in the hall.  Please note: in order to allow all of our children to participate (including specific children who cannot obtain photographic permission), the sharing of assemblies via Teams is for internal school use only, and not accessible to parents/carers. 

The dates for all of this years’ Class Assemblies are now published in the Diary section at the end of this bulletin.

Team Points: Here are the Team Points totals at the end of this week.  It’s very very close, but Attenborough have retained their lead – well done!

Rowling

Attenborough

Holmes

Hawking

1649

1652

1595

1619

Covid-19: Please stay alert - it is essential that we all remain vigilant for Covid symptoms. As before, if you or your children are experiencing Covid symptoms, do not approach or enter the school site.  Continue to follow the current Covid guidance – you can check this at www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/ 

Dates for your Diary 

Term dates for 2021/22: https://www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/Parents/Term-Dates-21-22/

Please note: although we have planned events for the full academic year, it is possible that future Covid disruption or other factors may result in changes. 

Thursday 23rd September – TSA AGM, in the school hall at 8.30pm

Monday 18th October – Open Afternoon for Y5/Y6 – 2-3pm

Tuesday 19th October – Open Afternoon for Y3/Y4 – 2-3pm

Wednesday 20th October – Open Afternoon for Y1/Y2 – 2-3pm

Thursday 21st October Open Afternoon for Year R – 2-3pm

Thursday 21st October – Last day of term 1 for pupils

Friday 22nd October – INSET day (School closed for pupils)

Monday 1st November – First day of term 2

Tuesday 2nd November – Parent Consultation Evening 3.30 – 6.30pm (in person)

Thursday 4th November – Outdoor Classroom Day

Thursday 4th November Parent Consultation Evening 3.30 – 6.30pm (online via Teams)

Sunday 7th November – TSA Fireworks Extravaganza

Monday 8th November to Friday 12th November – Year 6 residential visit to PGL Marchants Hill

Monday 15th – Friday 19th November – Anti-Bullying Week

Monday 15th November – Flu Immunisation Programme (all year groups)

Wednesday 17/Thursday 18th November – Pupils’ Individual Photos (Tempest Photographers)

Thursday 9th December – Christmas Performance Year R – 2.45pm

Friday 10th December – Christmas Dinner Day and Christmas Jumper Day

Tuesday 14th December – Christmas Performance Year 1 – 2.30pm

Wednesday 15th December – Christmas Performance Year 2 – 2pm

Thursday 16th December – Carols on the playground Y3/Y4 – 3.15pm

Friday 17th December - Carols on the playground Y5/Y6 – 3.15pm

Friday 17th December – Last day of term 2

Tuesday 4th January – INSET day (School closed for pupils)

Wednesday 5th January – First day of term 3 for pupils

Friday 4th February – Number Day –including dressing up

Monday 7th – Friday 11th February – Mental Health Week

Tuesday 8th February – Safer Internet Day

Friday 11th February – Last day of term 3

Monday 21st February - INSET day (School closed for pupils)

Tuesday 22nd February – First day of term 4 for pupils

Thursday 24th February – Parent Consultation Evening 3.30-6.30pm

Tuesday 1st March- Parents Consultation Evening 3.30-6.30pm

Thursday 3rd March – World Book Day

Friday 18th March – Science Day

Friday 1st April – Last day of term 4

Tuesday 19th April – First day of Term 5

Monday 2nd May – Bank Holiday – School Closed

Monday 9th – Friday 13th May – SATs Week – Year 6

Monday 16th – Friday 27th May – SATs Weeks – Year 2

Friday 27th May – Last day of term 5

Monday 6th June - INSET day (School closed for pupils)

Tuesday 7th June – First day of term 6 for pupils

Thursday 23rd June – National Writing Day

Monday 27th – Friday 1st July – STEAM Week

Monday 4th July – Sports Day (with Reserve Day Friday 8th July)

Friday 22nd July – Last day of term 6 

Class assemblies 

Class assemblies are scheduled to take place in-person, in the school hall, on Friday afternoons. Please come to the front of the school and wait outside the hall entrance doors.  You will be invited in at approximately 2.45 pm.  The assembly will begin at 2.55 pm and last for about 10 minutes, finishing in time for you to collect your children at the end of the school day, as normal.

Friday 19th November – Magenta Class Assembly

Friday 26th November – Crimson Class Assembly

Friday 14th January - Ruby Class Assembly

Friday 21st January – Azure Class Assembly

Friday 28th January – Orange Class Assembly

Friday 4th February – Blue Class Assembly

Friday 11th February – Emerald Class Assembly

Friday 4th March – Turquoise Class Assembly

Friday 11th March – Scarlet Class Assembly

Friday 18th March - Amber Class Assembly

Friday 25th March – Lavender Class Assembly

Friday 1st April – Violet Class Assembly

Friday 29th April – Yellow Class Assembly

Friday 6th May – Lilac Class Assembly

Friday 13th May – Indigo Class Assembly

Friday 20th May – Sapphire Class Assembly

Friday 27th May – Pink Class Assembly

Friday 10th June – Bears Class Assembly

Friday 17th June – Red Class Assembly

Friday 24th June – Hedgehogs Class Assembly

Friday 1st July – Owls Class Assembly

Noticeboard

Details of our new entrants tours for September 2022 Reception Intake are available on the home page and 'New Entrants' tab. 

 

Reminder: Friday 22nd October 2021 is an INSET Day.