Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin: Friday 20th January 2023

Headteacher’s message to parents/carers

Dear Parents/Carers,

Children have spent this week telling me more about their ambitions – they really are thinking big!  Following last week’s bulletin, thank you to all of our parents/carers who found the time to talk about ambitions at home.  What did you discover?  Were you able to grow your children’s ambitions?  Or discover an ambition which you didn’t know they had?  If you would like a reminder of how important it is to be ambitious, please take a look at this poem, Beautiful Ambition by Karl Nova, which children watched in assembly on Monday.  “I drank wisdom, poured out in Nan’s kitchen. She fed me hope, and that expands vision….”  

This week in school, we have seen plenty of hope and ambition, with children striving to do their very best in their learning.  My favourite lesson visits have been to see children completed enthralled by their reading.  With every year group in Key Stage 2 starting a new text this term, children are gripped by the characters and events taking shape before them.  Our current class texts include ‘The Sewer Demon’ in Year 4, ‘Sky Song’ in Year 5 and ‘Anna at War’ in Year 6.  For further information on the wonderful books which children read in each year group, please look at our English Curriculum information.

As well as fabulous in-class learning, we have some exiting enrichment events taking place.  Our swimmers are competing in the Mini Youth Games Swimming Gala at Medway Park today and our choir are going to perform at the O2 with Young Voices on Tuesday.  Good luck to everyone taking part in these events and we look forward to sharing your successes next week.

Finally this week, we have also been learning about the Chinese New Year.  Miss Stevens set each class a traditional ‘Lantern Riddle’ to solve - try this one: “I have a tail and a head, but no body. What am I?”  (Answer in the notices section.)  As well as this, one of our Year 3 children, Hayley, was able to share the Chinese New Year items from her own home, including some beautiful clothes worn by herself and her little brother- thank you!

Strike action: you will already be aware that strike action has been announced by the NEU, with strike dates for teachers in our region being Wednesday 1st February, Thursday 2nd March, Wednesday 15th March and Thursday 16th March.  Since the strike dates were announced, we have been consulting with Tunbury teachers to find out how our school will be affected.  We will share this information with parents/carers as soon as we possibly can, so please expect an update next week, before next Friday’s bulletin.

Thank you everyone for your ongoing support for your children’s education.  Have a lovely weekend.

Best wishes

Ruth Austin

Headteacher 

Our Learning Year 1

This Term in Year 1 we have been enjoying the story 'The Tiger who came to Tea'. We have been writing shopping lists to replace what the Tiger had eaten using adjectives to describe the food. We have even made sandwiches for the Tiger so that he doesn't get hungry!

 

In Maths we have been exploring numbers to 20, focusing on place value and how we can partition a number into tens and ones.  

 In topic we have been exploring the wonderful world of animals, looking at how animals are classified. The children have produced fantastic work, writing facts about birds, reptiles, amphibians and fish.  

Notices 

Team Points: this week’s totals are as follows. Hawking team held on to their lead.  Well done blue team! 

Rowling

Attenborough

Holmes

Hawking

2570

2498

2612

2701

Riddle answer: a coin. 

Dates for your Diary 

Term dates for 2022/23: https://www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/Term-Dates-22-23/

Tuesday 24th January – Young Voices Concert at the O2 (Singing Club)

Monday 30th January – Open afternoon YR: 2-3pm

Tuesday 31st January – Open afternoon Y1 / Y2: 2-3pm

Wednesday 1st February - Amazing Animal World visit for Year 1 and Year R

Wednesday 1st February – Open afternoon Y3 / Y4: 2-3pm

Thursday 2nd February – Open afternoon Y5 / Y6: 2-3pm

Friday 3rd February – National Number Day

Tuesday 7th February – Safer Internet Day

Friday 10th February – Y4 Roman Day

Friday 10th February – Last day of term 3 for pupils

Monday 20th February - INSET Day – School Closed for pupils

Tuesday 21st February – Start of term 4 for pupils

Thursday 23rd February - Parent consultation evening – 3.30-6.30pm

Tuesday 28th February - Parent consultation evening – 3.30-6.30pm

Friday 17TH March – National Science Day

Monday 20th March – Francophonie Day

Thursday 30th March - IRock Performance to parents am

Friday 31st March – Last day of term 4 for pupils

Monday 17th April – First day of term 5 for pupils

Monday 1st May - Bank Holiday – School Closed

May – Year 2 (KS1) SATs

Monday 8th May – Bank Holiday in honour of the Coronation of His Majesty King Charles III

Tuesday  9th – Friday 12th May – Year 6 (KS2) SATs

Friday 19th May – Y5 Visit to Maidstone Museum

Monday 22nd– Friday 26th May – Outdoor learning week

Friday 26th May – Last day of term 5 for pupils

Monday 5th June - INSET Day – School Closed for pupils

Tuesday 6th June – First day of term 6 for pupils

Tuesday 6th- Friday 9th June – STEAM week

w/c Tuesday 6th June – Year 4 Multiplication Times Tables check

w/c Monday 12th June – Year 1 Phonics check

Friday 30th June – Sports Day

Friday 7th July – Reserve Sports Day

Friday 21st July – Last day of term/academic year for pupils 

Class assemblies 

Class assemblies will be held in the school hall on Friday afternoons.  Parents/carers and family members from each class are warmly invited to join us in school for these events, as our children love to share their learning with you.  Please come to the front of the school and wait outside the hall entrance doors.  You will be invited in at approximately 2.45 pm.  The assembly will begin at 2.50 pm and last for about 10 minutes, finishing in time for you to collect your children at the end of the school day, as normal. 

Friday 20th January         Violet Class Assembly

Friday 27th January         Orange Class Assembly

Friday 3rd February        Scarlet Class Assembly

Friday 10th February      Amber Class Assembly

Friday 3rd March              Lavender Class Assembly

Friday 10th March           Yellow Class Assembly

Friday 17th March           Crimson Class Assembly

Friday 24th March           Turquoise Class Assembly

Friday 31st March            Ruby Class Assembly

Friday 28th April               Sapphire Class Assembly

Friday 5th May                  Pink Class Assembly

Friday 12th May               Red Class Assembly                                   

Friday 19th May               Bears Assembly

Friday 26th May               Owls Assembly

Friday 16th June               Hedgehogs Assembly

Noticeboard

Welcome back to Term 3!

The last day of Term Three is Friday 10th February