Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin: Friday 20th March 2020

Headteacher’s Message

Dear Parents/Carers, 

It’s difficult to focus on anything other than the coronavirus today, but I’m going to try! I’ll send a separate update to all parents/carers later regarding the details of our provision from Monday.

This week, we have been so proud of the positive spirit shown by all of our children. In what turned out to be our final assemblies before today’s closure, on Monday we thought about the characteristics of a Tunbury learner (for example, considerate, polite, happy, kind, safe, helpful, sharing, caring, successful and honest). Our children show these characteristics every day while they are in school and I’m sure that they will also do their very best to do so while they are at home!

I would also like to recognise the dedication and compassion shown by our staff team, who have been absolutely wonderful in a difficult set of circumstances. Despite having their own concerns, staff have come into work with a positive attitude, continuing to do their very best to provide a safe and happy experience for children. I have no doubt that staff will continue to show the same spirit into an uncertain future over the next few days and weeks.

Finally, thank you also to all of our parents and carers for your continued support for the school. For those of you who will be looking after your children at home, we understand that this will present many different challenges. We’ll do our best to support you with regular updates via the school website and we will look to refine and extend the way in which we present learning to you, especially if children are away from school for an extended period. For those of you who will be bringing children into school, we hope that this provision will allow you to focus on your essential public service roles – thank you to our NHS staff, police officers and all other groups for everything you’re doing.

Have a restful weekend if you can - please take care of yourselves and your families. 

Ruth Austin
Headteacher

Our learning Year 5

Last Wednesday, Year 5 travelled to London to visit the Greenwich Observatory, as part of their topic this term; Space. The day started off with a view of London, looking at the famous architecture and discussing the River Thames and why the city of London developed around it.

The children then went to look at the Greenwich Meridian line and were able to have one foot on the East of the Earth and the other in the West! This was followed by a tour of the museum and a visit to the astronomer’s house where the children could use some of the original 18 th century telescopes.

After lunch, was the visit to the planetarium. It was huge and allowed everyone to begin to get a feel for just how immense the universe is! The children were able to experience close quarter views of all of the planets of the solar system as well as to contemplate what the future of space research and travel may entail.

The children loved the experience and it has really helped to fuel their excitement for the topic. They were well behaved, a fact commented on by observatory staff and public alike, a real credit to the school.

 

Notices

  • Site Manager Vacancy

We’re still looking for a new Site Manager due to the retirement of Mr Evans. For further details, please visit https://www.kent-teach.com/Recruitment/Vacancy/VacancyDetails.aspx?VacancyId=79478 

  • HLTA Vacancy

We’re also seeking to employ a new HLTA (Higher Level Teaching Assistant). For further details, please visit https://www.kent-teach.com/Recruitment/Vacancy/VacancyDetails.aspx?VacancyId=79243 

Dates for your Diary

Wednesday 1st April – Last Day of Term 4

Thursday 2nd AprilWednesday 15th AprilSpring/Easter Break

Thursday 16th April – Start of Term 5

Tuesday 21st April – Swimming starts for Rubyclass

Wednesday 29th April – Friday 1st May – Year 4 Residential visit to Swattenden

Monday 4th May – Classes and Year 6 group photos – Tempest Photographers

Friday 8th May – Bank Holiday – School Closed

Monday 11th May – SATs Week – Year 6

Monday 18th May – SATs Week – Year 2

Friday 22nd May – Last day of Term 5

Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May – May Break Week

Monday 1st June – INSET DAY – School Closed for Pupils

Tuesday 2nd June – Start of Term 6 for pupils

Monday 8th June – Phonics check week – Year 1

Monday 15th June – Friday 19th June - Bikeability Cycle Training Year 6

Monday 15th June – Multiplication Tables check week – Year 4

Friday 26th June - Year 4 visit to Horton Kirby

Saturday 27th June – TSA Summer Fair 1 – 4 pm

Monday 6th July – Sports Day – KS2 am, KS1 pm (Reserve Day, Monday 13th July)

Wednesday 8th July – Parent Forum – 2 pm

Friday 10th July – TSA Dare to be Different/Family Picnic

Wednesday 15th July – Year 6 performances 2 pm and 6 pm

Thursday 16th July – Annual Reports home to parents

Monday 20th July – Parents’ Open Afternoon 2 pm

Monday 20th July – Parents’ drop-in with class teachers regarding reports 3.15 -4.15 pm

Wednesday 22nd July – Year 6 Leavers’ Assembly – 2 pm

Wednesday 22nd July – Last day of Term 6 / Academic Year

Class Assemblies

Class assemblies take place on a Friday at the end of the school day. Please wait outside the hall entrance doors. You will be invited in at approximately 2.50 pm, once the children are seated, and the assembly will begin at 2.55 pm. It will last about 10 minutes. 

Friday 27th March – Azure

Friday 15th May – Blue

Friday 22nd May – Red

Friday 12th June – Pink

Friday 19th June – Yellow

Friday 26th June – Bears

Friday 3rd July - Owls

Friday 10th July – Hedgehogs

 

Noticeboard

Welcome to our new look website. Our new site is 'responsive', making it easy to navigate on a wide range of web browsers and devices. There’s a range of smaller changes to improve your experience of the site. This website is organic and we will continue to develop it further to suit everyone's needs. We hope that you find it useful and enjoy browsing it.