Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin:Friday 29th September 2023

Headteacher’s message to parents/carers

Dear Parents/Carers,

Another busy week in school, with some of my highlights as follows….  Children have continued to have their lunchtimes on the school field, meaning that they have so much space to play in a beautiful outdoor setting.  In Years 2-6, we saw the first TT Rockstars class awards– well done to Violet, Magenta, Scarlet, Azure and Orange classes for their victories this week. Our newest children in Reception are now so settled in their new classrooms, with their new school friends and already making such great progress – fabulous to see! 

Flood update: we finally managed to return Red and Orange classes to their normal classrooms on Monday morning this week, after their new flooring had been installed over the weekend.  Blue class also had new flooring as well, meaning that all three of these classes are truly ‘back to normal’.  A huge well done to all of the children (and staff) for their adaptable approach during the flood disruption.  We are now also using our hall as normal, including for PE and assembly, but awaiting further guidance on future repairs to the laminate flooring.  We continue to work with KCC to bring in effective flood prevention measures for Tunbury and will let you know when we eventually have some good news in this area!

Looking ahead, we’re delighted to share information and dates on our New Entrants events for our Reception intake in September 2024.  This year, we’re giving a greater range of options and time slots, as follows. 

New Entrants Meetings

Presentation from Headteacher and EYFS lead in the school hall, with a tour of the school afterwards.

Wednesday 8th November at 9.30am

Wednesday 15th November at 6.00pm

 

New Entrants School Tours

Tours of the school with School Leaders and Year 6 children (with no presentation or meeting in the hall).

Tours at 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30 on the following four dates, with 2 tours at each time slot and capacity for up to 4 families to book onto each tour. 

Friday 3rd November 2023, 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30

Tuesday 14th November 2023, 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30

Wednesday 29th November 2023, 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30

Monday 11th December 2023, 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30

 In order to book onto these New Entrants events, please email us on our dedicated email address for admissions into Reception, which is newentrants@tunbury.kent.sch.uk . Please feel free to share these details with any friends or neighbours who are looking for a Reception school place for September 2024.  Thank you.

Have a lovely weekend everyone.

Best wishes,

Ruth Austin

Headteacher 

Notices 

Parent Governor Election: As a reminder, our parent governor ballot is still open, until the closing date of 3.30pm on Thursday 5th October. To access the ballot, please refer to the email sent out on 21st September to Tunbury parents/carers.  If you did not receive it, please contact the school office at office@tunbury.kent.sch.uk so that we can re-send you the details.  Thank you. 

Uniform: Thank you for supporting your child with our uniform policy, especially the wearing of black school shoes and appropriate earrings only.  A couple of parents have mentioned that our wording on earrings could be clearer – we agree, and we will clarify this for you as soon as possible.  In the meantime, please continue to follow our current guidance: ‘Earrings should be small stud type only and should be removed for PE.’ 

Weekly Class Attendance: This is a weekly feature on our bulletin to highlight and celebrate good levels of attendance. Well done to our little Owls taking top place for KS1. Followed by Crimson with great attendance for KS2, well done!     

Class

Weekly Attendance Percentage

Owls

☆99.49%☆

Crimson

☆99.23%☆

Blue

98.15%

Bears

97.97%

Azure

97.78%

Emerald

97.41%

Sapphire

96.3%

Indigo

96.17%

Turquoise

96.17%

Lavender

94.44%

Magenta

93.85%

Yellow

93.78%

Hedgehogs

93.42%

Orange

93.33%

Lilac

93.33%

Scarlet

93.33%

Amber

93.31%

Red

92.89%

Ruby

92.59%

Pink

91.88%

Violet

89.26%

 Team Points: This week. Hawking have held on to their lead – well done! 

Rowling

Attenborough

Holmes

Hawking

3097

3181

2945

3317

Dates for your Diary 

Term dates for 2023/24: www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/Parents/Term-Dates-23-24/

Term 1

Thursday 12th October – Ancient Greek Workshop in school – Year 6

Monday 16th October – Viking Outdoor Cooking in school – Year 5

Monday 16th October – Year R Open afternoon – 2-3pm

Tuesday 17th October – Year 1 and 2 Open afternoon – 2-3pm

Wednesday 18th October – Year 3 and 4 Open afternoon – 2-3pm

Thursday 19th October – Year 5 and 6 Open afternoon – 2-3pm

Thursday 19th October – Last day of term for pupils

Friday 20th October – INSET Day – School closed for pupils 

Term 2

Monday 30th October – Start of Term 2 for pupils

Monday 30th – 10th November – Bikeability Year 6

Thursday 2nd November – Parent Consultation evening 3.30 – 6.30pm

Thursday 2nd November – Outdoor Classroom day

Friday 3rd November 2023, 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30 – New Entrants School Tour NEW

Tuesday 7th November – Parent consultation evening 3.30-6.30pm

Wednesday 8th November at 9.30am – New Entrants meeting NEW

Monday 13th-Friday 17th – Anti-Bullying week

Tuesday 14th November 2023, 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30 – New Entrants School Tour NEW

Wednesday 15th-17th November – Year 6 PGL Marchants Hill

Wednesday 15th November at 6.00pm – New Entrants meeting NEW

Tuesday 21st November – Flu immunisations (Years R-6)

Wednesday 22nd-23rd November – Tempest Photography (Individual/sibling photos)

Saturday 25th November – TSA Christmas Fair

Wednesday 29th November 2023, 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30 – New Entrants School Tour NEW

Monday 4th December – Astro Dome Year 5

Tuesday 5th – Thursday 7th December – TSA Christmas Present Room

Wednesday 6th December – Year R Nativity – 2.30pm

Friday 8th December – Christmas Jumper Day and Lunch

Monday 11th December 2023, 9.00, 9.45 and 10.30 – New Entrants School Tour NEW

Tuesday 12th December – Year 2 Nativity – 2.30pm

Wednesday 13th December Year 1 Nativity – 2.30pm

Thursday 14th December – Year 3&4 Carols on the playground – 2.50pm

Friday 15th December – Year 5&6 Carols on the playground – 2.50pm

Friday 15th December – Last day of term for pupils

 Term 3

Tuesday 2nd January – School Closed – INSET DAY

Wednesday 3rd January – Start of Term 3 for pupils

Thursday 18th January – Young Voices at the O2 (KS2 Singing Club)

Friday 2nd February – NSPCC Number Day

Tuesday 6th February – Safer Internet Day

Friday 9th February – Last day of term for pupils

 Term 4

Monday 19th February – School Closed – INSET DAY

Tuesday 20th February – Start of Term 4 for pupils

Thursday 22nd February – Parent Consultation evening – 3.30-6.30pm

Tuesday 27th February – Parent Consultation evening – 3.30-6.30pm

Monday 11th-15th March – British Science Week

Thursday 28th March – Last day of term for pupils

 Term 5

Monday 15th April – Start of Term 5 for pupils

Monday 6th May – BANK HOLIDAY – School Closed

Monday 13th-Thursday 16th May – KS2 SATS Week Year 6

Friday 17th May – Outdoor Learning Day

Friday 24th May – Last day of term for pupils

 Term 6

Monday 3rd June – School Closed – INSET DAY

Tuesday 4th June – Start of Term 6 for pupils

Tuesday 4th-7th June – STEAM Week

Monday 3rd June-14th June – Multiplication Times Tables Check Year 4

Monday 10th June-Friday 14th June – Phonics Screening – Year 1

Friday 28th June – Sports Day (KS2 am, family picnic at lunchtime, FS/KS1 pm)

Friday 5th July – Reserve Sports Day

Tuesday 23rd July – Last day of term 

Class assemblies 

Class assemblies will be held in the school hall on Friday afternoons.  Parents/carers and family members from each class are warmly invited to join us in school for these events, as our children love to share their learning with you.  Please come to the front of the school and wait outside the hall entrance doors. You will be invited in at approximately 2.45pm.  The assembly will begin at 2.50pm and last for about 10 minutes, finishing in time for you to collect your children at the end of the school day, as normal. 

Friday 10th November – Scarlet Class Assembly

Friday 17th November – Indigo Class Assembly

Friday 24th November – Sapphire Class Assembly

Friday 1st December – Amber Class Assembly

Friday 8th December – Emerald Class Assembly

Friday 12th January – Blue Class Assembly

Friday 19th January – Turquoise Class Assembly

Friday 26th January – Crimson Class Assembly

Friday 2nd February – Violet Class Assembly

Friday 9th February – Azure Class Assembly

Friday 1st March – Orange Class Assembly

Friday 8th March – Ruby Class Assembly

Friday 15th March – Lavender Class Assembly

Friday 22nd March – Pink Class Assembly

Friday 26th April – Magenta Class Assembly

Friday 3rd May – Lilac Class Assembly

Friday 10th May – Yellow Class Assembly

Friday 24th May – Red Class Assembly

Friday 7th June – Bears Class Assembly

Friday 14th June – Hedgehogs Class Assembly

Friday 21st June – Owls Class Assembly

Noticeboard

Welcome to Term 4

The last day of Term 4 is Thursday 28th March 2024

The first day of Term 5 for pupils is Monday 15th April 2024 

(Monday 3rd June 2024 is an INSET Day, School is closed for pupils)