Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin: Friday 31st January 2020

Headteacher’s Message

Dear Parents/Carers, 

This week, I thought I would draw your attention to a new feature of our curriculum: whole school concepts. As you’ll already know, we want our curriculum to be broad, balanced and engaging for all of our learners. To help us achieve this, the Tunbury curriculum has been redesigned this academic year. (Full details at www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/Curriculum ) Alongside units of work in each year group, we also now have a whole school concept for every term, and this term it’s Mistakes. Every class is currently exploring the concept of mistakes through their learning in English, History, PSHE or other curriculum areas.

 

 Our assemblies are also linked to the theme of mistakes and this week, we have been learning about perseverance. We thought about our four house team icons: JK Rowling, Kelly Holmes, David Attenborough and Steven Hawking. From JK Rowling’s rejection letters, telling her that her first novel would never be a success, to Steven Hawking’s amazing determination to communicate using only a muscle in his cheek, we found plenty of inspiration. Please ask your child what they understand about perseverance – it’ll be an interesting conversation! 

Enjoy your weekend everyone. 

Ruth Austin
Headteacher 

Our learning Year 1

We started Term 3 with a visit from ZooLab. We encountered a variety of animals centred around our topic Paws, Claws and Whiskers. This gave us the opportunity to ask an expert lots of interesting questions! Did you know…that a giant African land snail has over 10,000 teeth on his tongue and he can grow up to the size of a football! Wow!

We have discovered that there are 5 main types of animals; birds, mammals, reptiles, amphibians and fish. We can now classify animals into these 5 groups and explain why they belong to that classification. We even drew animals to go on our classroom display!

In English we are reading the book The Tiger who came to Tea. He was a very hungry tiger, who ate all of the food in Sophie and her mum’s house, so we wrote new shopping lists to help mum and we are even baking biscuits for their family too.

 

Notices

  • Parents’ Open Afternoon Our Open Afternoon is from 2 pm on Wednesday 12th February. This is a valuable opportunity to come into your children’s classrooms and experience some learning alongside them. For parents in Orange class, please note that unfortunately Mrs Poxon will not be in school on this day. Orange class will be taught by our student teacher, Miss Yuill, alongside our HLTA, Mrs Stewart.
  • We are looking for another Local Hero! Not a School Crossing Patrol this time, but a new Site Manager. Unfortunately, our current Site Manager Mr Evans is planning to retire at Easter, so we are recruiting. The advert is now live at www.kent-teach.com/Recruitment/Vacancy/VacancyDetails.aspx?VacancyId=77298 Please mention this to anyone you know who would be interested in this rewarding role – thank you.
  • Violin Lessons Would your child like to learn to play the violin? Mrs Walland, violin teacher has spaces for more pupils. Mrs Walland currently teaches violin every Tuesday morning. If your child would like to join one of her lessons please visit the following website: https://www.kent-music.com/ and complete and return the online application form.
  • Starting at Primary School for September this year The deadline for applications for reception class places in September this year has now passed. However if you have missed the deadline KCC online admissions system (www.kent.gov.uk/ola) is still open for parents until 10th February. This means that parents can apply online and receive an offer on Primary National Offer Day (16th April) as long as it is submitted by 10th February.

Dates for your Diary

Monday 3rd February – iRock music assembly

Thursday 6th February – Greek Workshop Year 6

Thursday 6th February - Forest School Year R pm

Friday 7th February – TSA Family disco

Tuesday 11th February – Safer Internet Day

Wednesday 12th February – Parents’ Open Afternoon – 2 pm

Thursday 13th February – Zoolab visiting Year R

Friday 14th February – TSA Non-Uniform Day

Friday 14th February - Year 3 – Stone Age themed Day

Friday 14th February – Last day of Term 3

Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February – February Break

Monday 24th February – INSET DAY – School Closed for pupils

Tuesday 25th February – Start of Term 4 for pupils

Thursday 5th March – World Book Day –

Thursday 5th March – Parents’ Evening 3.40 pm – 6.30 pm

Monday 9th March – Y2 visit to Leeds Castle

Tuesday 10th March - Parents’ Evening 3.40 pm – 6.30 pm

Wednesday 11th March – Year 5 visit to the Royal Observatory

Thursday 12th March – Year 1 visit to Kent Life

Monday 16th March – Travelling Books sale

Thursday 19th March – Parent Forum – 5 pm

Thursday 26th March – Last day for Extra – Curricular Clubs

Tuesday 31st March – TSA Easter Hunt

Wednesday 1st April – Last Day of Term 4

Thursday 2nd AprilWednesday 15th AprilSpring/Easter Break

Thursday 16th April – Start of Term 5

Tuesday 21st April – Swimming starts for Rubyclass

Wednesday 29th April – Friday 1st May – Year 4 Residential visit to Swattenden

Monday 4th May – Classes and Year 6 group photos – Tempest Photographers NEW

Friday 8th May – Bank Holiday – School Closed

Monday 11th May – SATs Week – Year 6

Monday 18th May – SATs Week – Year 2

Friday 22nd May – Last day of Term 5

Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May – May Break Week

Monday 1st June – INSET DAY – School Closed for Pupils

Tuesday 2nd June – Start of Term 6 for pupils

Monday 8th June – Phonics check week – Year 1

Monday 15th June – Friday 19th June - Bikeability Cycle Training Year 6

Monday 15th June – Multiplication Tables check week – Year 4

Friday 26th June - Year 4 visit to Horton Kirby

Monday 6th July – Sports Day – KS2 am, KS1 pm (Reserve Day, Monday 13th July)

Wednesday 8th July – Parent Forum – 2 pm

Friday 10th July – TSA Dare to be Different/Family Picnic

Wednesday 15th July – Year 6 performances 2 pm and 6 pm

Thursday 16th July – Annual Reports home to parents

Monday 20th July – Parents’ Open Afternoon 2 pm

Monday 20th July – Parents’ drop-in with class teachers regarding reports 3.15 -4.15 pm

Wednesday 22nd July – Year 6 Leavers’ Assembly – 2 pm

Wednesday 22nd July – Last day of Term 6 / Academic Year

Class Assemblies

Class assemblies take place on a Friday at the end of the school day. Please wait outside the hall entrance doors. You will be invited in at approximately 2.50 pm, once the children are seated, and the assembly will begin at 2.55 pm. It will last about 10 minutes. 

Friday 31st January – Lilac

Friday 7th February – Amber

Friday 14th February – Lavender

Friday 6th March – Emerald

Friday 13th March – Magenta

Friday 20th March – Ruby

Friday 27th March – Azure

Friday 15th May – Blue

Friday 22nd May – Red

Friday 12th June – Pink

Friday 19th June – Yellow

Friday 26th June – Bears

Friday 3rd July - Owls

Friday 10th July – Hedgehogs

Noticeboard

Welcome to our new look website. Our new site is 'responsive', making it easy to navigate on a wide range of web browsers and devices. There’s a range of smaller changes to improve your experience of the site. This website is organic and we will continue to develop it further to suit everyone's needs. We hope that you find it useful and enjoy browsing it.