Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin: Friday 7th February 2020

Headteacher’s Message

Dear Parents/Carers,

I am impressed by the range of musical talent within school, with children already learning the guitar, violin, piano and singing in individual/paired lessons during school time.  As well as this, our Year 4 classes have whole class lessons on playing the recorder, so during their time at Tunbury all children do learn to play a musical instrument.  We are now looking to expand our range of musical opportunities and this week, we launched a new opportunity, 'iRock', in which children learn collaboratively to form a band using guitar, drums, keyboards and singing.  Further details are at https://irockschool.com .  During Monday's special assemblies we formed two instant bands, one for KS1 and KS2, in which the whole school joined in with an instant rendition of 'We will rock you'!  The new lessons will be scheduled in school time, depending on demand, so please register your interest directly with iRock if you would like your child to get involved.

As you'll already know, we are trying to give you better advanced notice of dates and as part of this, we have just published our term dates, including INSET days, for 2020-21 at www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/Parents/Term-Dates-2020-2021 .  I would also like to let you know about this year's Book Week, including World Book Day on Thursday 5th March.  Like many schools across the UK, we'll be having some fun by dressing up as book characters on World Book Day.  Dressing up is of course completely optional, but we hope that plenty of children (and staff) will get involved.  We'll be awarding some prizes for the best home made costumes, so please feel free to get creative!  Further details on Book Week will follow next week.

Finally, just a reminder that our Spring whole-school Open Afternoon is next Wednesday, 12th February, from 2.00-3.00, so please join us if you can.
Have a lovely weekend everyone.

Ruth Austin
Headteacher

Our learning Year 5

As part of our topic this term, Year 5 visited Maidstone Museum.  Each class took part in two workshops and had some free time to explore the Ancient Egyptian exhibits, including the famous mummy.
In one of the workshops, children handled objects and identified which were replicas and which were artefacts. It was amazing to know that some of the objects we were holding were over 3,000 years old.  The children found out how to mummify a body; it certainly was a lengthy and rather messy business! 
On the subject of mess; in the other workshop, the children put all their knowledge into practice by mummifying an orange -definitely better than practising on each other!
Back in school, we have been learning about fractions in maths and this week we will be adding and subtracting mixed and improper fractions.   We have been finding out all about forces in science by planning and carrying out investigations into how forces react against each other.  
 
Notices

•         As we do every year, we are participating in Safer Internet Day 2020 next Tuesday.  Children across the school will spend at least half of the school day engaging in activities, lessons and assemblies on keeping safe on the internet and with technology.  Our Online Safety Ambassadors in Year 6 will be leading the assemblies and going round classes to see the learning in action.  Please take the opportunity of this event to ensure your parent controls and your filters are up to date on all home devices. 
Please also ask your child what they have learned about keeping safe online on that day.
See: https://www.saferinternet.org.uk/advice-centre/parents-and-carers and https://www.nspcc.org.uk/keeping-children-safe/online-safety/ for further home support.
 
•         Open Afternoon
We look forward to seeing you on Wednesday 12th February.  Our doors will be open from 2.00 onwards for you to join your children in class.  At 3.00, staff will be asking parents to move to the playgrounds so that we can get children ready for home time following our normal routines.  For parents in Orange class, please note that unfortunately Mrs Poxon will not be in school on this day. Orange class will be taught by our student teacher, Miss Yuill, alongside our HLTA, Mrs Stewart.
•         Due to next week’s Open Afternoon the Wednesday after school clubs will not be taking place. The clubs are: Sign Language, Coding Club, Football Y2,3 and 4 , Dodgeball Y1,2 and 3.
•         Also due to Open Afternoon, P.E. for Year 3 will take place on Monday next week. Please ensure children have their P.E. kits in school ready for their lesson on Monday 10th February.

•         Year 2 would appreciate egg boxes for an art lesson on Friday 14th February.
Thank you

•         NHS Immunisation Team
There is still time to get the nasal flu vaccination. Even though it's best to get vaccinated as soon as the flu vaccine is available, getting the vaccine later can still help protect against the flu virus. There are still a few months left in the flu season, so it's a good idea to get vaccinated. The Kent and Medway Immunisation team is running clinics over the February half term, to book a clinic appointment please contact them on kchft.cyp-immunisationteam@nhs.net or 0300 123 5205.

•         Violin Lessons
Would your child like to learn to play the violin?  Mrs Walland, violin teacher has spaces for more pupils. Mrs Walland currently teaches violin every Tuesday morning. If your child would like to join one of her lessons please visit the following website: https://www.kent-music.com/ and complete and return the online application form.

•         Reminder: as many of you are already aware, our teachers can’t release children at the end of the day to another adult other than the parent, unless teachers have already been informed of this.  We understand that unexpected delays can happen, but please contact the school office if you need to change your collection plans rather than expecting a friend to be able to collect your children on your behalf. Thank you for your understanding.

•         The deadline for applications for reception class places in September this year has now passed. However if you have missed the deadline KCC online admissions system (www.kent.gov.uk/ola) is still open for parents until 10th February. This means that parents can apply online and receive an offer on Primary National Offer Day (16th April) as long as it is submitted by 10th February.

Dates for your Diary

Tuesday 11th February – Safer Internet Day
Wednesday 12th February – Parents’ Open Afternoon – 2 pm
Thursday 13th February – Zoolab visiting Year R
Friday 14th February – TSA Non-Uniform Day
Friday 14th February - Year 3 – Stone Age themed Day
Friday 14th February – Last day of Term 3
Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February – February Break
Monday 24th February – INSET DAY – School Closed for pupils
Tuesday 25th February – Start of Term 4 for pupils
Thursday 5th March – World Book Day
Thursday 5th March – Parents’ Evening 3.40 pm – 6.30 pm
Monday 9th March – Y2 visit to Leeds Castle
Tuesday 10th March - Parents’ Evening 3.40 pm – 6.30 pm
Wednesday 11th March – Year 5 visit to the Royal Observatory
Thursday 12th March – Year 1 visit to Kent Life
Monday 16th March – Travelling Books sale
Thursday 19th March – Parent Forum – 5 pm
Thursday 26th March – Last day for Extra – Curricular Clubs
Tuesday 31st March – TSA Easter Hunt
Wednesday 1st April – Last Day of Term 4
Thursday 2nd April – Wednesday 15th April – Spring/Easter Break
Thursday 16th April – Start of Term 5
Tuesday 21st April – Swimming starts for Ruby class
Wednesday 29th April – Friday 1st May – Year 4 Residential visit to Swattenden
Monday 4th May – Classes and Year 6 group photos – Tempest Photographers NEW
Friday 8th May – Bank Holiday – School Closed
Monday 11th May – SATs Week – Year 6
Monday 18th May – SATs Week – Year 2
Friday 22nd May – Last day of Term 5
Monday 25th May – Friday 29th May – May Break Week
Monday 1st June – INSET DAY – School Closed for Pupils
Tuesday 2nd June – Start of Term 6 for pupils
Monday 8th June – Phonics check week – Year 1
Monday 15th June – Friday 19th June - Bikeability Cycle Training Year 6
Monday 15th June – Multiplication Tables check week – Year 4
Friday 26th June - Year 4 visit to Horton Kirby
Monday 6th July – Sports Day – KS2 am, KS1 pm (Reserve Day, Monday 13th July)
Wednesday 8th July – Parent Forum – 2 pm
Friday 10th July – TSA Dare to be Different/Family Picnic
Wednesday 15th July – Year 6 performances 2 pm and 6 pm
Thursday 16th July – Annual Reports home to parents
Monday 20th July – Parents’ Open Afternoon 2 pm
Monday 20th July – Parents’ drop-in with class teachers regarding reports 3.15 -4.15 pm
Wednesday 22nd July – Year 6 Leavers’ Assembly – 2 pm
Wednesday 22nd July – Last day of Term 6 / Academic Year

Class Assemblies

Class assemblies take place on a Friday at the end of the school day. Please wait outside the hall entrance doors.  You will be invited in at approximately 2.50 pm, once the children are seated, and the assembly will begin at 2.55 pm.  It will last about 10 minutes.

Friday 7th February – Amber
Friday 14th February – Lavender
Friday 6th March – Emerald
Friday 13th March – Magenta
Friday 20th March – Ruby
Friday 27th March – Azure
Friday 15th May – Blue
Friday 22nd May – Red
Friday 12th June – Pink
Friday 19th June – Yellow
Friday 26th June – Bears
Friday 3rd July - Owls
Friday 10th July – Hedgehogs

 

Noticeboard

Welcome to our new look website. Our new site is 'responsive', making it easy to navigate on a wide range of web browsers and devices. There’s a range of smaller changes to improve your experience of the site. This website is organic and we will continue to develop it further to suit everyone's needs. We hope that you find it useful and enjoy browsing it.