Quick Links

Useful Links

Tunbury Primary

Weekly Bulletin: Friday 8th October 2021

Headteacher’s message to parents/carers 

Dear Parents/Carers,

We have now planned our New Entrants meetings for parents/carers looking for a school place for Reception children in September 2022.  Please share the following information with anyone you know who may be interested. 

In school meetings, with a short presentation, Q&A session and guided tours of the school:

  • Wednesday 3rd November 9.15-10.15
  • Thursday 11th November 9.15-10.15
  • Tuesday 23rd November 3.30-4.30
  • Thursday 2nd December 2.00-3.00 

Online meeting, with presentation and Q&A session only, for parents/carers who cannot visit us in person.

  • Monday 15th November 5.00-5.45

To book a place, please email office@tunbury.kent.sch.uk with your name, your child’s name, a contact number and the date of the session you wish to attend.  Please book early, as the in-school sessions have limited capacity in order to minimise Covid risks. 

Last year, our new entrants meetings were online only, and we still have videos on our website at www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/New-Entrants-2021/ which new parents/carers may like to watch. 

Also, to see what this year’s Reception children have already been up to at Tunbury Primary School, please read the ‘our learning’ section below.  This year’s Reception classrooms are full of smiles, enjoyment, friendship and opportunity for our youngest children.  We’re really proud of how well children have settled into school life and can’t wait to see how far they can go in the next 7 years! 

Have a lovely weekend everyone. 

Best wishes 

Ruth Austin

Headteacher 

Our Learning: Year R

This term our Topic in Reception is titled  ‘All about me’. We are so proud of how the children have settled into Year R, they are keen to learn new things and have embraced being part of Tunbury school community.

Starting school involves learning lots of new things, we have learnt how to identify our own feelings and have started to think about ways to regulate how we feel. Everyday we talk about how we feel and the ‘Zones of regulation’ we then place our name in the emotion cup that best suits our mood. We discuss how we can help each other to feel ready to learn.

 

We have been reading the story ‘The Colour Monster’ by Anna Llenas. This has helped us to understand that it is ok to feel different emotions and that we can support each other.

We used clay and different media to create our very own colour monsters.

 

We have also looked at the story ‘Silly Billy’ by Anthony Brown. In the story Billy is given a worry doll to help him with his worries. This week we have created our very own worry dolls.

 

In Reception we learn inside and outside. We have been using loose parts to create dens together and using construction materials to create our very own vehicle. We have been learning how to share, how to work in a team and how to problem solve in practical situations.

 

In maths we have been singing lots of counting songs. We have been comparing, classifying and sorting groups of items.

 

Notices 

TSA Bingo Night: Unfortunately, the TSA Bingo Night due to take place on Friday 15th October has been cancelled. They are hoping to reschedule this for some time in the New Year.

TSA Christmas Cards: The green TSA collection boxes for your Christmas card envelopes will be at both entry gates on Monday and Tuesday. Tuesday is the last day for this. 

Team Points: Here are the Team Points totals at the end of this week. Attenborough still ahead, with a lead of 14 team points over Rowling. Well done everyone!

Rowling

Attenborough

Holmes

Hawking

4693

4707

4588

4537

Black History Month: This October, children are learning about important people as part of Black History Month.  Each year group from Years 1-6 is studying a different person and researching what makes them special, as follows: Year 1 – Rosa Parks, Year 2 – Faith Ringold, Year 3 – Nelson Mandela, Year 4 – Marcus Rashford, Year 5 – Katherine Jenkins and Year 6 – Jesse Owens.  If you can, please support your children with this learning at home. 

Year 2: As part of Year 2’s 'Inside the Toybox' topic, our year 2 children are invited to bring one of their favourite toys from home into school on Thursday 14th October for one day only. Year 2 will be using the toys to inspire a piece of non-fiction writing in their English lesson. Please encourage your child to choose a toy that is not too big or valuable. Year 2 are looking forward to the excitement this day will bring! 

Viking Day: As part of Year 5’s topic our year 5 children will be having a Viking day on Friday 15th October. Children are invited to dress up for this day – home-made costumes are fine. 

Message from Total Catering solutions (TCS): TCS, similar to other caterers, are experiencing disruption in some of our deliveries. Fortunately we are better placed than most as our meat, vegetables, fruit and salad come from local producers and we have had no problem with deliveries from them, but the company who supply our dry goods have had a supply problem. We are doing all we can to get goods from other sources but there may be occasions when we have to change the menu, if this does happen school will be given as much notice as possible so that parents can be informed and children with special diets catered for appropriately. Please bear with us during this difficult time, we will ensure that there is as little disruption as possible. 

Covid-19: Please stay alert - it is essential that we all remain vigilant for Covid symptoms. As before, if you or your children are experiencing Covid symptoms, do not approach or enter the school site.  Continue to follow the current Covid guidance – you can check this at www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/

Dates for your Diary 

Term dates for 2021/22: https://www.tunbury.kent.sch.uk/Parents/Term-Dates-21-22/

Please note: although we have planned events for the full academic year, it is possible that future Covid disruption or other factors may result in changes. 

Friday 15th October – Viking day – Year 5

Monday 18th October – Open Afternoon for Y5/Y6 – 2-3pm

Monday 18th October – Parents’ Information meeting: PGL – 3.30 pm

Tuesday 19th October – Open Afternoon for Y3/Y4 – 2-3pm

Wednesday 20th October – Open Afternoon for Y1/Y2 – 2-3pm

Thursday 21st October – Home Front Bus visit – Year 6

Thursday 21st October Open Afternoon for Year R – 2-3pm

Thursday 21st October – Last day of term 1 for pupils

Friday 22nd October – INSET day (School closed for pupils)

Monday 1st November – First day of term 2

Tuesday 2nd November – Parent Consultation Evening 3.30 – 6.30pm (in person)

Wednesday 3rd November 9.15-10.15 - New Entrants for September 2022 meeting for parents/ Carers NEW

Thursday 4th November – Outdoor Classroom Day

Thursday 4th November Parent Consultation Evening 3.30 – 6.30pm (online via Teams)

Sunday 7th November – TSA Fireworks Extravaganza

Monday 8th November to Friday 12th November – Year 6 residential visit to PGL Marchants Hill

Thursday 11th November 9.15-10.15 - New Entrants for September 2022 meeting for parents/Carers NEW

Monday 15th – Friday 19th November – Anti-Bullying Week

Monday 15th November – Flu Immunisation Programme (all year groups)

Monday 15th November 5.00-5.45New Entrants for September 2022 Online meeting for parents/Carers NEW

Wednesday 17/Thursday 18th November – Pupils’ Individual Photos (Tempest Photographers)

Tuesday 23rd November 3.30-4.30 - New Entrants for September 2022 meeting for parents/Carers NEW

Thursday 2nd December 2.00-3.00 - New Entrants for September 2022 meeting for parents/Carers NEW

Thursday 9th December – Christmas Performance Year R – 2.45pm

Friday 10th December – Christmas Dinner Day and Christmas Jumper Day

Tuesday 14th December – Christmas Performance Year 1 – 2.30pm

Wednesday 15th December – Christmas Performance Year 2 – 2pm

Thursday 16th December – Carols on the playground Y3/Y4 – 2.50pm

Friday 17th December - Carols on the playground Y5/Y6 – 2.50pm

Friday 17th December – Last day of term 2

Tuesday 4th January – INSET day (School closed for pupils)

Wednesday 5th January – First day of term 3 for pupils

Friday 4th February – Number Day –including dressing up

Monday 7th – Friday 11th February – Mental Health Week

Tuesday 8th February – Safer Internet Day

Friday 11th February – Last day of term 3

Monday 21st February - INSET day (School closed for pupils)

Tuesday 22nd February – First day of term 4 for pupils

Thursday 24th February – Parent Consultation Evening 3.30-6.30pm

Tuesday 1st March- Parents Consultation Evening 3.30-6.30pm

Thursday 3rd March – World Book Day

Friday 18th March – Science Day

Friday 1st April – Last day of term 4

Tuesday 19th April – First day of Term 5

Monday 2nd May – Bank Holiday – School Closed

Monday 9th – Friday 13th May – SATs Week – Year 6

Monday 16th – Friday 27th May – SATs Weeks – Year 2

Friday 27th May – Last day of term 5

Monday 6th June - INSET day (School closed for pupils)

Tuesday 7th June – First day of term 6 for pupils

Thursday 23rd June – National Writing Day

Monday 27th – Friday 1st July – STEAM Week

Monday 4th July – Sports Day (with Reserve Day Friday 8th July)

Friday 22nd July – Last day of term 6 

Class assemblies 

Class assemblies are scheduled to take place in-person, in the school hall, on Friday afternoons. Please come to the front of the school and wait outside the hall entrance doors.  You will be invited in at approximately 2.45 pm.  The assembly will begin at 2.55 pm and last for about 10 minutes, finishing in time for you to collect your children at the end of the school day, as normal. 

Friday 19th November – Magenta Class Assembly

Friday 26th November – Crimson Class Assembly

Friday 14th January - Ruby Class Assembly

Friday 21st January – Azure Class Assembly

Friday 28th January – Orange Class Assembly

Friday 4th February – Blue Class Assembly

Friday 11th February – Emerald Class Assembly

Friday 4th March – Turquoise Class Assembly

Friday 11th March – Scarlet Class Assembly

Friday 18th March - Amber Class Assembly

Friday 25th March – Lavender Class Assembly

Friday 1st April – Violet Class Assembly

Friday 29th April – Yellow Class Assembly

Friday 6th May – Lilac Class Assembly

Friday 13th May – Indigo Class Assembly

Friday 20th May – Sapphire Class Assembly

Friday 27th May – Pink Class Assembly

Friday 10th June – Bears Class Assembly

Friday 17th June – Red Class Assembly

Friday 24th June – Hedgehogs Class Assembly

Friday 1st July – Owls Class Assembly

Noticeboard

Details of our new entrants tours for September 2022 Reception Intake are available on the home page and 'New Entrants' tab. 

 

Reminder: Friday 22nd October 2021 is an INSET Day.